The Nillumbik Prize 2018

Nillumbik Shire Council in association with Montsalvat presents the Nillumbik Prize; celebrating contemporary works of excellence by artists with a Nillumbik connection. Entrants must demonstrate a connection to the Shire of Nillumbik as a local artist or through a Statement of Connection.


1st Prize
$5,000 (non-acquisitive) for a contemporary work of excellence in any medium

Two Commendations and a Montsalvat People’s Choice Award, each to the value of $500, will also be awarded

Prize Judge:
Mark Feary, Artistic Director, Gertrude Contemporary   

Finalist Selection Panel:
Anthony Fitzpatrick, Curator, Tarrawarra Museum of Art
Christine Johnson, Artist
Grace Longato, Cultural Collections Officer, Nillumbik Shire Council


Entries open / Thursday 18 January, 9am                           
Entries close / Thursday 15 March, 5pm             
Entrants notified by / Friday 20 April
Selected works delivered / Friday 25 May – Monday 28 May
Exhibition opening / Thursday 31 May, 6.30pm – 8.30pm
People’s Choice Award Announced / Friday 20 July, 6.30pm
Exhibition / Thursday 31 May– Sunday 22 July

Please ensure you read the Terms & Conditions of entry.

Image: Winner of The Nillumbik Prize 2017, Anna McDermott1. The outside limit of an object, area or surface. 2. Move or cause to move gradually or furtively in a particular direction (detail), 2016, digital video still printed on canson cotton rag, 105cm x 59cm