Back to All Events

EXHIBITION: Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art 2019

Nillumbik Shire Council presents the Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art, a biannual acquisitive art prize open to emerging and established artists working in any medium across Australia. Artworks, responding to the themes of Place and Space can take any form, including (but not limited to) sculpture, painting, drawing, printmaking, textiles, photography, installation, sound digital, video, performative. The Prize is presented in association with Montsalvat.

Three monetary prizes are applicable to the Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art including:

Open Prize:                         $20,000 acquisitive 

Local Prize:                         $10,000 acquisitive

People's Choice Award:    $500 cash prize sponsored by Montsalvat               

The judges for this year’s prize are: Godwin Bradbeer, artist, Charlotte Day, Director, Monash University Museum of Art  and Danny Lacy, Senior Curator, Mornington Peninsula Regional Gallery       

For more information please visit the Nillumbik Shire Council website here

Barn Gallery, May 30 - July 21

Curator Floor Talk: Sunday June 30th, 2pm

2019 finalists:
Lyn Ashby, Robert Baines, Anindita Banerjee, Elizabeth Banfield, James Barden, Lisa Bartolomei/David Coen/Donald Gray/Gillian Lever/Josh Peters, Kate Beynon, Aldo Bilotta, Suzie Blake, Julie Bradley, Fleur Brett, Kiri-Una Brito Meumann, Michelle Caithness, Samraing Chea, Isobel Clement, Kevin Chin, Lou Conboy, Emma Coulter, Peter Daverington, Jennifer Dellaportas, Julia deVille, Megan Evans, Anna Farago, Silvi Glattauer, Erika Gofton, Karena Goldfinch, Amala Groom, Sophia Hewson, Martin King, Tracey Lamb, Hayley Lander, Chris Langlois, Kimberley Liddle, Fionna Madigan, Clare McCracken, Leanne Mooney, Eunice Napanangka Jack and Tobias Titz, Naomi Nicholls, Yuria Okamura, Jasmine Poole, Oliver Poppert, Elvis Richardson, Nina Sanadze, Megan Seres, Daniel Sherington, Julie Shiels, Jason Sims, Vipoo Srivilasa, Tim Sterling, Camilla Tadich, Michael Vale, Damien Veal, Carole Wilson, Susan Wirth.   


Earlier Event: 10 February
EXHIBITION: Belinda Rogers